The New Mexico Transportation Safety Center is part of the University of New Mexico Continuing Education Business and Technology Division. This center was formerly known as the Transportation Safety Law Center, located at the UNM Institute of Public Law.  In 2011, the center moved to Continuing Education and continues its work with the NMDOT Traffic Safety Division. Transportation Safety Center staff focus on three main areas of expertise: training, licensing, and monitoring of Driver Education, DWI, and Driving Safety schools and Ignition Interlock providers. Contact us at:

 

Latayah York, Traffic Safety & Compliance Program Manager

Driver Education (Behind-the-Wheel)

Phone: 505-277-0872, Fax: 505-277-8975, lyork@unm.edu

 

Kirt Heider, Safety & Compliance Auditor

Traffic Safety Programs

Phone: 505-288-2364, Fax: 505-277-8975, kwheider@unm.edu

 

Angela DeLong Pacheco, Program Supervisor

Phone: 505-277-3975, Fax: 505-277-8975, delong@unm.edu

 

Georgette Stockman, Program and Grants Manager

Transportation Safety Training Programs

Phone: 505-277-5008, stockman@unm.edu

 

Marguerite Williamson, Editor

Transportation Safety Training Programs

Phone: 210-530-1440, megwill@unm.edu

 

New Mexico Department of Transportation Traffic Safety Division

Division Chief

Franklin Garcia (Franklin.Garcia@state.nm.us)
Phone:  (505) 827-3200
 

DWI Schools & Facilitators

Jeff Barela, NMDOT-Traffic Safety Division, (505) 827-1671,  jeff.barela@state.nm.us

 

High School / Middle School Driver Education Instructors

Louie Lam, NMDOT Traffic Safety Division (505) 827-5562, louie.lam@state.nm.us
 

Ignition Interlock
Jolyn Sanchez, NM DOT Traffic Safety Division (505) 827-1687, jolyn.sanchez@state.nm.us